

Results of the OOISS 2012 RAHBC Commodore Cup



Double Dutch Wins the Day

On February 17th the RAHBC hosted the second and final leg of the 2012 Commodore Cup, this year sponsored again generously by OOISS. The day started with very unusual south-easterly winds, which persisted during the day. The race was led by Stephen Martin and Michael Obermaier on the committee boat, with 4 clean starts. Fourteen boats participated on this day, including a Viper, a Weta, which is a single handed trimaran, and twelve Hobie 16's. The Viper, sailed by Dave & Victoria was again the fastest of the fleet. With their bright red spinnaker flying they were a superb spectacle to watch. However they ran into material problems during race 3, and had to retire to the beach to fix a broken halyard. Double Dutch Hobie 16, sailed by Giles & Jules Brinsley managed to snatch first place on this second and defining event day, and in combination with their second place on the first leg they won the overall title and the highly coveted Commodore Cup. Third position overall was claimed by the French Connection Christophe & Francois.

The prize giving was held on the boat club bridge, where Aly Brandenburg, the RAHBC Commodore, thanked the sponsor Robert Ambrose of OOISS and the OOD Stephen Martin and assistant OOD Michael Obermaier for their support. All participants received a very nice sports bag with the OOISS logo embroidered on it. Lucy Ambrose than thanked the Commodore for organizing the event, and offered her a beautiful bouquet of flowers. After the prize giving all sailors adjourned to the BBQ's along the RAH beach.

				Winter total	Rank	Spring Total	Rank	Combi Total	Rank
1	Giles Brinsley	Robyn	DD	7	2	6	1	19	1
2	Dave Clark	Victoria grainger	Viper	5	1	13	2	31	2
3	Christope Doublet	Francois	H16	20	4	14	3	48	3
4	Matthijs Wagemans	Darren Dasilva	Sur	31	7	16	4	63	4
5	Aly Brandenburg	Marije	H12	13	3	29	6	71	5
6	Maartje Koning	Helen Morgan	H14	27	6	36	10	99	6
7	Rudolph Fleischer	Tony Males	H2	43	10	35	9	113	7
8	Lucy Ambrose	Robert Ambrose	H17	68	17	24	5	116	8
9	Manuel Fritz	Abdul	H15	68	17	30	7	128	9
10	Cees van Eden	Boyana Pavlovic	H13	68	17	32	8	132	10
11	Jan Willem	Jenny		20	5	68	17	156	11
12	Paul Frost	Pam	H9	68	17	45	11	158	12
13	Ronald van As	Jitske	H11	68	17	46	12	160	13
14	Rolf Wiggli		Weta	68	17	50	13	168	14
15	Bernard Grossouvre	Connor	H8	68	17	50	14	168	15
16	Stijn	Richard		34	8	68	17	170	16
17	Anke	Boyana		37	9	68	17	173	17